Dear Colleagues,
It is our pleasure to invite you to the 79th EAS Congress in Gothenburg, Sweden, from 26 to 29 June 2011. The Congress is hosted by the Scandinavian Society for Atherosclerosis Research. All the Scandinavian countries are represented in the Organising Committee, and have worked together with the EAS Scientific Programme Committee to prepare a programme that will include the latest developments in the field of atherosclerosis, together with timely reviews presented by outstanding plenary speakers.
Although there have been considerable advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of this disease in recent years, atherosclerosis remains the major cause of death in the industrialized world. The EAS has been, and continues to be, a major contributor to developments in the field. For EAS 2011, we aim to create a programme of interest both to junior and established basic scientists and to clinical researchers and practitioners. Our goal is to promote interaction between these different groups, and equally to ensure that cutting-edge basic research is translated into disease prevention and treatment. There will also be a special focus on new treatment guidelines, and a major effort to present accessible, interesting and interactive poster sessions.
The Congress will be held in the Gothenburg Convention Center, which is located in the city centre and within walking distance of the major hotels. The congress center offers convenient facilities, allowing you to select your favorite topics among the parallel sessions and to visit the exhibitions. Gothenburg is Sweden’s second largest city and is at its most beautiful in June. It is located at the mouth of the Göta river on the west coast of southern Sweden and has many attractions, including the picturesque archipelago, the largest amusement park in Scandinavia, and numerous parklands and nature areas.
On behalf of the Organising Committee, we welcome you to Gothenburg. Join us for the 79th EAS Congress in 2011 - a stimulating meeting offering enjoyable and rewarding interactions between basic and clinical researchers in the field of atherosclerosis.

Olov Wiklund
Congress Chairperson

Jan Borén

Petri Kovanen
Chairman of the Scientific Programme Committee

M. John Chapman
EAS President